Hub des connaissances des territoires

Accueil / Bases de connaissances / Associations nationales de collectivités territoriales / Council of Governors (COG)

Council of Governors (COG)

Council of Governors (COG)
Utalii House, Utalii Street, 10th Floor, Room 1003, Nairobi, P.O. Box 73328 -00200
Tel : (254) 202 249 695
Fax : (254) 202 242 758
Email : info (@)

12 mai 2021

The Inter-governmental Relations Act 2012 establishes a Council of Governors (CoG) comprising all the Governors of the 47 Counties. As noted above, CoG is established to promote consultation, coordination and cooperation amongst the 47 County Governments on matters of common interest. Importantly, the CoG provides a forum for sharing best practices and information on matters devolution. Finally, the Council also serves as the link between the 47 Counties and the National Government and is the link through which intergovernmental relations are conducted. This is in addition to facilitating inter-governmental consultations.

The Council has established sectoral working committees to promote dialogue on policy matters among the Counties as well as with the National Government. There are 12 Working Committees established for this purpose. The Committees are aligned with the devolved functions and other relevant functions and policy issues that promote effective performance of the Counties.

The functions and powers of the county governments

  1. Agriculture, including—
    (a) crop and animal husbandry ;
    (b) livestock sale yards ;
    (c) county abattoirs ;
    (d) plant and animal disease control ; and
    (e) fisheries.
  2. County health services, including, in particular—
    (a) county health facilities and pharmacies ;
    (b) ambulance services ;
    (c) promotion of primary health care ;
    (d) licensing and control of undertakings that sell food to the public ;
    (e) veterinary services (excluding regulation of the profession) ;
    (f) cemeteries, funeral parlours and crematoria ; and
    (g) refuse removal, refuse dumps and solid waste disposal.
  3. Control of air pollution, noise pollution, other public nuisances and outdoor advertising.
  4. Cultural activities, public entertainment and public amenities,including—
    (a) betting, casinos and other forms of gambling ;
    (b) racing ;
    (c) liquor licensing ;
    (d) cinemas ;
    (e) video shows and hiring ;
    (f) libraries ;
    (g) museums ;
    (h) sports and cultural activities and facilities ; and
    (i) county parks, beaches and recreation facilities.
  5. County transport, including—
    (a) county roads ;
    (b) street lighting ;
    (c) traffic and parking ;
    (d) public road transport ; and
    (e) ferries and harbours, excluding the regulation of international and national shipping and matters
    related thereto.
  6. Animal control and welfare, including—
    (a) licensing of dogs ; and
    (b) facilities for the accommodation, care and burial of animals.
  7. Trade development and regulation, including—
    (a) markets ;
    (b) trade licences (excluding regulation of professions) ;
    (c) fair trading practices ;
    (d) local tourism ; and
    (e) cooperative societies.
  8. County planning and development, including—
    (a) statistics ;
    (b) land survey and mapping ;
    (c) boundaries and fencing ;
    (d) housing ; and
    (e) electricity and gas reticulation and energy regulation.
  9. Pre-primary education, village polytechnics, homecraft centres and childcare facilities.
  10. 1Implementation of specific national government policies on natural resources and environmental
    conservation, including—
    (a) soil and water conservation ; and
    (b) forestry.
  11. County public works and services, including—
    (a) storm water management systems in built-up areas ; and
    (b) water and sanitation services.
  12. Fire fighting services and disaster management.
  13. Control of drugs and pornography.
  14. Ensuring and coordinating the participation of communities and locations in governance at the local level and assisting communities and locations to develop the administrative capacity for the effective exercise of the functions and powers and participation in governance at the local level.

Téléchargez la page au format PDF